Today I will be talking to you about integrated studies in term 3, (Spoiler alert it was a banger!) First of all we had camp on the second week of term. We left on the Monday and we came home on the Wednesday. On this camp I learned so much about the Eureka Stockade and what life was like for children in the 1850s. We even got to go to school that was based on a real 1850 school. We also got to go down two real mine shafts! I used many PLA’s on this camp but the main one was Courage when we went to school there for the first time and I thought that I would get the Cain. Overall it was an experience like no other.

After we went to camp we started our Sovereign Hill dioramas. My partner for my building was Grace and we were building the Builders And Undertakers shop. One of the PLA’s that I had to use was resilience when some part of the building kept falling over! We also had another square to put tents and trees onto.

After our dioramas were complete we had a task to program a Sphero robot around the dioramas. It took a while for me and Grace to program our robot around the streets of Sovereign Hill but we got there just in time for when it was the day that the parents came in to see our dioramas and see our Sphero roll around the town.

In this unit I learned so much about the Eureka Stockade. The Eureka Stockade was a 20 minute battle between the Miners and the Government. It was on the 3rd of December 1854 at 3am. It is believed that 5 Government Troops and about 20 miners died. The people of Ballarat started to rebel against the government after James Bentley was not accused after killing James Scobie.

Overall it has been an amazing term and surely one that I will remember for most of my life and I am very excited for term 4!

What do you know about life in the 1850s?