In the past few weeks we have been practising and rehearsing our Year 5 Production for the big day. The production is called ‘Hanging Onto The Bottom Of The World’ and we did it with 5Q. It was about Australian history and it was very funny. I had one of the Funniest parts because I was Queen Victoria and a Convict, as the Queen Victoria part I got to wear a dress and a crown.

The first scene I was in I was Queen Victoria and it was at a wedding that represents Australia establishing all the states. I came on the stage by getting pushed on a tricycle by the Sweepers. I had to make a speech about Great Britain giving their Assent to Australia but I keep getting interrupted by the commentators Bruce and Eddie. At the end of the scene Bruce and Eddie kick all the Brides, Brides Mades and Me off. Then I came off the stage with my tricycle once again.

The next scene that I was on, I was a convict and I came from the back of the hall with all the other convicts and soldiers. When we were on stage we sang a song called ‘Eye Of The Needle’. We had to stand at the back of the stage for most of the scene and we had to use cups of sand to make the borders of Australia on the stage. In that scene Governor Philip and the Governors of all the states of Australia are having problems crossing borders to get to other states. Governor Philip calls Great Britain and asks if they can stop sending Convicts, they say that if they stop sending convicts then they have to take back the guards and they agreed.

The final scene in that I was in was when there was a Cricket game to decide if Australia should federate and unite. The Anti-Billites were batting and they were the team that didn’t want to federate and the Pro-Federationists did want to Federate. I was Queen Victoria in this scene and I was the Umpire. I got pushed on my tricycle to get on stage once again and I sat on it all game while umpiring the game. Near the end of the game one of the Pro-Federationists took off their beard and revealed that they were a lady. As she is talking about why Women should be consoled in federation, the tea lady’s were handing out cups of tea to the players and the Queen. Then the Queen feels very faint and I collapse and die and the sweepers carry me off.

Some of the PLA’s (Positive Learner Attributes) that I had to use were Courage when I got pushed on stage for the first time and the whole Crowd laughed. I also had to use Resilience when there wasn’t any more Convict shirts so I had to use a plain white shirt. I also used Connectedness when the Sweepers took me on and off stage and when they carried me off.

When we first found out our parts at the start of the term I had no idea what the Production would look like. In our first rehearsal my class and 5Q all sat in a circle and said our lines to our first dress rehearsal with props and costumes. I can’t count how many fun rehearsals we had to do to make it so good. Because I don’t say anything as a Convict I only found out that I was a Convict about a week before we were preforming and after no time at all I learned how to play the part.

There were so many people that made this production possible like Mrs Quodling and all of the other teachers who always helped us rehearse and she encouraged us to try our best and get the most out of us. I also want to thank Helen (Max’s Mum) who made all of the crowns for the brides and she also made all of the sandwiches for the tea ladies to hand out the the crowd. She had to make two whole plates filled with sandwiches with jam and Vegemite for all four productions. I also want to thank the Sweepers (Ned and Georgie) for pushing and pulling me on stage and off the stage and carrying me off stage when I died.

Overall it was a great Production and I learned so much over the time that we were learning our parts and I am excited to see the Year Five Production next year and I wish the best of luck for the year fives next year.